

# Hall of Shame: Over 500 British Members of Parliament Back Israel's Bombing of Gaza

By <u>Vicki Thomas</u> Global Research, November 09, 2023 Declassified UK 8 November 2023 Region: <u>Europe</u> Theme: <u>Law and Justice</u> In-depth Report: <u>PALESTINE</u>

All Global Research articles can be read in 51 languages by activating the Translate Website button below the author's name.

To receive Global Research's Daily Newsletter (selected articles), <u>click here</u>.

Click the share button above to email/forward this article to your friends and colleagues. Follow us on <u>Instagram</u> and <u>Twitter</u> and subscribe to our <u>Telegram Channel</u>. Feel free to repost and share widely Global Research articles.

\*\*\*

Only 93 MPs in Westminster support a parliamentary motion calling for a ceasefire in Gaza, as of 8 November. Some 86% continue to support Israel's bombing, involving attacks on civilians which have killed over 10,000 Palestinians.

A parliamentary <u>Early Day Motion</u> (EDM) brought by Labour **MP Richard Burgon** on 8 November has secured 93 signatories – just 14% of the UK's <u>650 MPs</u>. A first EDM, brought on 7 October, was signed by 95 MPs.

The EDM condemns the Hamas attacks on Israel and Israel's siege of Gaza, and calls for the release of Hamas hostages and an immediate ceasefire.

The Palestinian death toll has now surpassed 10,000, mostly women and children, amid United Nations agencies all calling for a ceasefire.

Amnesty International has <u>documented</u> "indiscriminate" attacks on civilians, and a team of UN experts has <u>said</u> Israel's campaign in Gaza involves "crimes against humanity". A senior UN human rights official has <u>declared</u>:

"We are seeing a genocide unfolding before our eyes".

Here are the MPs in our hall of shame.

Name	Party	Constituency
Bim Afolami	Conservative	Hitchin and Harpenden
Adam Afriyie	Conservative	Windsor
Nickie Aiken	Conservative	Cities of London and Westminster
Peter Aldous	Conservative	Waveney
Rushanara Ali	Labour	Bethnal Green and Bow
Lucy Allan	Conservative	Telford
Dr Rosena Allin-Khan	Labour	Tooting
Mike Amesbury	Labour	Weaver Vale
Fleur Anderson	Labour	Putney
Lee Anderson	Conservative	Ashfield
Stuart Anderson	Conservative	Wolverhampton South West
Stuart Andrew	Conservative	Pudsey
Caroline Ansell	Conservative	Eastbourne
Tonia Antoniazzi	Labour	Gower
Edward Argar	Conservative	Charnwood
Jonathan Ashworth	Labour (Co-op)	Leicester South
Sarah Atherton	Conservative	Wrexham
Victoria Atkins	Conservative	Louth and Horncastle
Gareth Bacon	Conservative	Orpington
Mr Richard Bacon	Conservative	South Norfolk
Kemi Badenoch	Conservative	Saffron Walden
Shaun Bailey	Conservative	West Bromwich West
Siobhan Baillie	Conservative	Stroud
Duncan Baker	Conservative	North Norfolk
Mr Steve Baker	Conservative	Wycombe
Harriett Baldwin	Conservative	West Worcestershire
Steve Barclay	Conservative	North East Cambridgeshire
Paula Barker	Labour	Liverpool, Wavertree
Mr John Baron	Conservative	Basildon and Billericay
Simon Baynes	Conservative	Clwyd South
Margaret Beckett	Labour	Derby South
Aaron Bell	Conservative	Newcastle-under-Lyme
Hilary Benn	Labour	Leeds Central
Scott Benton	Independent	Blackpool South
Sir Paul Beresford	Conservative	Mole Valley

## Click here to see the full list.

# MPs Who Have Signed EDM 1, as of 8 November

Name	Party	Constituency
Richard Burgon	Labour	Leeds East
Caroline Lucas	Green Party	Brighton, Pavilion
Liz Saville Roberts	Plaid Cymru	Dwyfor Meirionnydd
Chris Stephens	Scottish National Party	Glasgow South West
Claire Hanna	Social Democratic & Labour Party	Belfast South
Kenny MacAskill	Alba Party	East Lothian
Stephen Farry	Alliance	North Down
Sir Peter Bottomley	Conservative	Worthing West
Ms Diane Abbott	Independent	Hackney North and Stoke Newington
Debbie Abrahams	Labour	Oldham East and Saddleworth
Tahir Ali	Labour	Birmingham, Hall Green
Hannah Bardell	Scottish National Party	Livingston
Apsana Begum	Labour	Poplar and Limehouse
Mr Clive Betts	Labour	Sheffield South East
lan Blackford	Scottish National Party	Ross, Skye and Lochaber
Olivia Blake	Labour	Sheffield, Hallam
Crispin Blunt	Independent	Reigate
Steven Bonnar	Scottish National Party	Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill
Deidre Brock	Scottish National Party	Edinburgh North and Leith
Alan Brown	Scottish National Party	Kilmarnock and Loudoun
Dawn Butler	Labour	Brent Central
lan Byrne	Labour	Liverpool, West Derby
Liam Byrne	Labour	Birmingham, Hodge Hill
Amy Callaghan	Scottish National Party	East Dunbartonshire
Douglas Chapman	Scottish National Party	Dunfermline and West Fife
Joanna Cherry	Scottish National Party	Edinburgh South West
Jeremy Corbyn	Independent	Islington North
Ronnie Cowan	Scottish National Party	Inverclyde
Jon Cruddas	Labour	Dagenham and Rainham
Geraint Davies	Independent	Swansea West
Andy McDonald	Independent	Middlesbrough
Martyn Day	Scottish National Party	Linlithgow and East Falkirk
Marsha De Cordova	Labour	Battersea
Martin Docherty-Hughes	Scottish National Party	West Dunbartonshire

#### Click here to see the full list.

\*

Note to readers: Please click the share button above. Follow us on Instagram and Twitter and subscribe to our Telegram Channel. Feel free to repost and share widely Global Research articles.

#### Vicki Thomas is Head of Communications at Declassified UK.

Featured image: MP's observe a minute's silence in recognition of those who lost their lives through conflict in Israel and Gaza, 20 October 2023. (Credit – UK Parliament Flickr)

### **Comment on Global Research Articles on our Facebook page**

#### **Become a Member of Global Research**

Articles by: Vicki Thomas

**Disclaimer:** The contents of this article are of sole responsibility of the author(s). The Centre for Research on Globalization will not be responsible for any inaccurate or incorrect statement in this article. The Centre of Research on Globalization grants permission to cross-post Global Research articles on community internet sites as long the source and copyright are acknowledged together with a hyperlink to the original Global Research article. For publication of Global Research articles in print or other forms including commercial internet sites, contact: <a href="mailto:publications@globalresearch.ca">publications@globalresearch.ca</a>

<u>www.globalresearch.ca</u> contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available to our readers under the provisions of "fair use" in an effort to advance a better understanding of political, economic and social issues. The material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving it for research and educational purposes. If you wish to use copyrighted material for purposes other than "fair use" you must request permission from the copyright owner.

For media inquiries: publications@globalresearch.ca